THE ARCHIVE: 25/09/07 - 24/03/10
BACK TO ZOMBIE HOME

NEW QUEENSTOWN PARK  Sunday, June 22, 2008

I just got an email from Devin Parker, a local Queenstown rider who sent in some photos of the new Queenstown park. Here's what he had to say:

Alrighty after ripping down a perfectly good concrete skatepark and an amazing 6ft plywood mini ramp stage one of the new queenstown skatepark is finally open to ride!

its a "plaza" style park with NO transitioned ramps at all what so ever!!!


work has also started on the 9ft "swimming pool" style bowl
with pool coping so at least we have something to look forward to..

most of the park consists of ledges and hard to get to obstacles with jersey barriers at either end of the park.

the park has a very interesting design and it seems not a very well thought out plan with not much flow/lines etc.

plus the entire park seems to be on a slight slope (good for skating one way?)

i got a chance to ride it for the first time yesterday with Raine and it looks like a cool park to ride but we found it hard to get stoked on...

but at the end of the day (and not having had a park in town to ride since last november) we are stoked to finally have somewhere to ride.

and if there is a new park getting built in your town get involved!

Thanks Devin!


3 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

looks pretty good for some real street riding.

June 23, 2008 at 6:21 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Lest we forget the dirt jumps you guys have...

June 23, 2008 at 4:56 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

hell no, some of the QT crew don't ride the jumps ?? they flow pretty easy realy,not scary at all, each to thier own tho aye!!! The new sk8park's a bit wierd fa sure ,just go ride street if ya want street , QLDC's way of keepin the streets skate & bmx clean i'd say ha ha but the bowl is nearly finished .... mmmmm BOWL 3 steep stylee little big & bigger

August 18, 2008 at 11:38 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]