I was talking to some riders the other day and was finding it hard to explain this, so I thought I would just post some photos instead.....
Before there was Rainbows End there was Coca Cola's Skateopia, the biggest skate park in southern hemisphere! I cant believe the demolished the whole thing to build a shitty amusement park... Its such as shame and so sad that most of us never got to ride it.. or even lay eyes on it for that matter!
omfg i never knew...that is the raddest thing out! afer taking vic too we should try get a massive skate park built that has the rider in mind. maybe im dreaming?
what is puzzeling is how backward(with a few exceptions) park design has gone since the 70's. wonder who designed / built skateopia? manukau city council would have documents on file no doubt if any one was intersted in digging deeper.
yea the bumper boats pool is one of the old bowls they just blocked off the drainage and filled that fucker up.......cunts, people shuld be stabed for being stupid enough to replace such an awsome skate park
my dad took me there a few times, goddamn that place was huge for a 10 year old sprog like me. Just a labyrinth. The GIANT bowl way in the furthest corner at the end of the long halfpipe thing looked 20 metres high, never saw one of us gromits get up enough speed to get near the lip! got some photos around somewhere
19 Comments:
holy shit mike you wernt joking! looks rad!
are you kidding me? i had no idea there was anything before rainbow's end.
awesome.
Man, I'm so dissappointed that rainbows end is there now. I hate that place anyway!
Any one got photos when we use to ride our bikes up there??? Keen to see the good old days.
my mum sk8d there full pads and rad colours
Man i wish i was ther!
the council is so crazy
one day mike will get that 7 foot hip...in the mean time, cruz down to hawera...
Bring back skateopia!
next time your on the bumper boats look down.....
the lost city of skatopia looms down in the 4 foot deep.
omfg i never knew...that is the raddest thing out! afer taking vic too we should try get a massive skate park built that has the rider in mind. maybe im dreaming?
ive been trying to tell people aswell, nobody believes me... until now!
what is puzzeling is how backward(with a few exceptions) park design has gone since the 70's. wonder who designed / built skateopia? manukau city council would have documents on file no doubt if any one was intersted in digging deeper.
I know the guy who owned it way back in the day - family friend...I will do some asking around and see what I can find out for you all!!
yes that would of been top dogs
oh well
omg i wish i could have ride it rainbows end ant that good it gay
yea the bumper boats pool is one of the old bowls they just blocked off the drainage and filled that fucker up.......cunts, people shuld be stabed for being stupid enough to replace such an awsome skate park
anyone for a late night stealth mission? bring some buckets and we'll empty that fuckn bowl
my dad took me there a few times, goddamn that place was huge for a 10 year old sprog like me. Just a labyrinth. The GIANT bowl way in the furthest corner at the end of the long halfpipe thing looked 20 metres high, never saw one of us gromits get up enough speed to get near the lip! got some photos around somewhere
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]