THE FUTURE OF VICTORIA SKATE PARK
Tuesday, September 1, 2009
A bunch of people have been asking questions about what's going on with Victoria Park.. so here is the deal:
Last Thursday I attended a meeting about the future of Victoria Skate park where a Vic Skate Park advisory group was formed, which consists of myself, Haimona, and 4 skaters.
In 5 weeks or so the skate park will be removed as the land is needed for the new motorway tunnel. At this stage it looks like we may temporarily relocate the park or at least some of the park so we have somewhere to ride. The really good news is that there is going to be a brand new park built, the location is still to be confirmed but it may be the corner of Victoria, Beaumont and College Hill.
We all agreed the the park needs to be of substantial size and quality as it will be the main park for Auckland and will be classed as an international park. The size of the skate park is to be no less than 2100sq mts, which means it could be bigger! To put that into perspective this is 2600sq mts, so we are looking at getting a pretty big park.
The other good news is that the plans for the new park should be finalized in 6-8weeks and construction will start straight away. It will be frustrating if they get rid of the current skate park and don't temporarily relocate the ramps. But we have to remember it's only temporary as we will be getting a new, bigger, better park! So I don't think going with out a park for a short period of time is a big deal if we know something good is on the way.
So that's the news so far.. if you have any questions feel free to ask.. or if you have any input let me know! I am attending a few more meetings in the next few weeks so I will keep you all posted on what’s going on.
In other related news there is planes for a final Vic Park jam in the works already, including a race through the city.
|
|
|
19 Comments:
Awesome! Can't wait!
Yo Mike,
I had a conversation with Karin from Fletcher construction yesterday, as she was trying to find the project manager for Waitangi skate park down here in welly. sounds like they are trying to get an idea of costings/budget at this stage. sounded like she was pretty well aware of the need to cater for bmx as well as skate which is a good sign, hope you guys get some mackin bowls!!!!
Thomas
when will the new park be ready
we should run a short 2 or so week comp to see who can come up with a skatepark design :D
not a bad idea imo
We need a water fountain.
aotea fountian.
Good shit.
I mean a drinking fountain.
we should have a line of box jumps or just one but its needed...
FOAM PIT, BIG AS RUGBY STADIUM LIGHTS, SPINE, BOWL, SOME SORT OF SHELTER WITH A QUATER IN IT, AND A MINI WITH 1.5CM GAPS BETWEEN THE SHEETS OF PLY TO PREVENT SKATERS FROM USING IT. and some sort of stairs with a rail or ledge.
needs a high grind box just for bikers...and no silly metal sheets on the bottom of the banks and quarters.
It'll be 'crete most likely, so no need for metal sheets.
MASSIVE CLOVER BOWL! I'm thinking vert ramp too, cause I'm sure there are people that need that kind of stuff? Full pipe? I hope that they are actually going to think about the layout of this park so that we can get some good lines. I agree with Condor, 1.5cm gaps like every 2 meters and they can just be like oops, that wasn't meant to happen hehe. WATER FOUNTAIN THAT IS FLAVOURED WATER!
Skaters deserve to ride it as well. but yeah, some flow would be nice.
Would be sick if the jam were to happen the same weekend before the SLAYER and Megadeath concert.
fuck yeah finally acc gets something right keen for some super flowy bowls also it would be mean to have some piddly street shit to piss around on
Goooooooooood
I am happy as long as they build a new park, there is a lack of good skateparks as it is in Auckland, and if it is going to be that big then it should be pretty awesome.
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]